Municipal Property Tax and Utility Relief Measures

Due to the hardship businesses are facing in the wake of COVID-19, many municipalities and utility companies have delayed their deadlines for property tax payments and utility bills.

Please note that our team is adding to this list on an ongoing basis, but it may not include all municipalities or utility companies. Contact our team or your local MP for more information in your area.

Filter or search for your province, municipality or utility company below. Please note the interactive table may take a minute to load.

wdt_ID Prov Municipality/ Utility Type New dates for payments
1 BC BC Utilities Commission Utility BCUC issued a letter on March 20, 2020 to all of its regulated public utilities to stop disconnections for a minimum of 90 days. On April 7, BCUC issued a letter approving applications from BC Hydro, Fortis Energy Inc. (FEI) and FortisBC Inc. (FBC) to provide Customer Relief Programs in light of the COVID-19 pandemic.
2 AB City of Edmonton Property Tax On April 29, City Council confirmed the combined tax levy for municipal and education property taxes will be 0% for residential property owners and a 2% decrease for non-residential property owners. Property taxes are due in June but late payment penalties will not be charged on taxes paid by September 1, 2020.
3 SK City of Regina Property Tax Delayed deadline to October 1, 2020
4 SK City of Saskatoon Property Tax June 30, 2020 → September 30, 2020
5 ON City of Toronto Property Tax Property Tax Payment Deferral Program for business property owners. Qualifying property owners are eligible to have late payment penalties/interest waived for a period of up to six months, from June 1 to November 30, 2020. Property owners must submit an application and supporting documentation. Eligibility criteria:
1. The property owner must have experienced severe demonstrable financial hardship directly related to COVID-19;
2. Applications must be accompanied by documentation or proof;
3. All property taxes must have been paid up to date before the March 2020 interim installment;
4. The property must be: A taxable property assessed in the following tax classes; occupied commercial, residual commercial, shopping, office, industrial, multi-residential or new multi-residential class and have a total taxable 2020 property assessment value equal to or under $10 million;
5. Property owners may apply for the deferral at any time between June 1-October 31, 2020.
6. The property will be ineligible for a waiver of late payment penalty or interest charges if false or inaccurate information is provided.
6 ON City of Hamilton Property Tax Due date of April 30th but no penalty or interest will be charged in May or June for late payments. If the April 30th installment is not paid by June 30th, it will be subject to penalty and interest starting July 1st.
7 ON City of Mississauga Property Tax Interim property tax due dates in April, May and June 2020 are deferred to July, August and September 2020. Final tax installment due dates are deferred by 90 days to October, November and December 2020.
8 NL City of St. John's Property Tax Interest waived until after Aug 31, 2020
9 NL Town of Paradise Property Tax Interest waived until June 30, 2020
10 NB Government of New Brunswick Property Tax Due date: May 31, 2020 but province will review late penalties on a case-by-case basis to see if penalty can be waived for financial challenges caused by closure
Prov Municipality/ Utility

Be heard. Save money. Stay informed.

Become a member